Current Programmes

National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPA)
Under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) it was agreed that Least Developed Countries (LDC's) would be supported to develop National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPA's).

NAPA's were intended as a way for Least Developed Countries to identify and prioritise their urgent adaptation needs, so that they may be funded and implemented as a priority. Priorities are identified based on existing information, and the process is very much a bottom up one, which encourages participation starting from the grass roots and community levels all the way up to national decision makers.

There are five LDC's who qualify for NAPA funding and support in the Pacific: Kiribati, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu .
All five of these countries have now submitted NAPAs and are now in the process of implementing those priority needs identified through the NAPA process.

Further information on NAPAs can be found at: Least Developed Country Portals

Joint National Action Plans (JNAPs)

In recognition of the fact that climate change adaptation relates very closely to disaster risk management and reduction, the climate change adaptation (CCA) and disaster risk management (DRM) communities have increasingly started to work together in the Pacific, to produce what are known as Joint National Action Plans.

Many of the disasters experienced in the Pacific relate to climate, and will be further exacerbated by climate change. For example – extreme weather events such as storms, cyclones, droughts, floods, are all expected to worsen as impacts of climate change.

A Joint National Action Plan (JNAP) brings together the CCA and DRM sectors, to address risks to key development sectors in a coordinated fashion.

To avoid duplication of efforts, and ensure a more efficient use of already scarce resources, the climate change and disaster management communities in many Pacific countries have worked together to create coordinated national strategies, which deal with these key issues and sectors jointly.

To date, JNAPs have been prepared by the governments of:
  • Tonga
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands

At the same time, the following governments are currently developing their own JNAPs:
  • Cook Islands
  • Niue
  • Tuvalu
  • Nauru

The current JNAP process has regional organisations working side by side with national governments to support them in this process. A joint partnership arrangement exists between SPREP, SPC (SOPAC Division) and UNDP, which has been supported through bilateral assistance from governments such as Australia.
You are here: Home Adaptation Current Programmes