Apia Convention

The Convention on Conservation of Nature in the South Pacific is a multilateral environmental agreement signed in Apia in the 12th of July 1976, and entered into force in 1990. The main objective of the Convention is to commit the Parties to take action for the conservation, utilisation and development of the natural resources of the South Pacific region through careful planning and management for the benefit of present and future generations.

The Apia Convention has produced its effect for twenty-six years, nevertheless at the Eighth Meeting of the Parties in 2006, its operation was suspended until further notice.
Parties’ commitments:

In order to pursue the objective of the Convention the Parties:
·         undertake to create protected areas to safeguard representative samples of natural ecosystems, superlative scenery, striking geological formations and regions and objects of aesthetic, historic, cultural or scientific value (art.2).
·         are committed to not alter national parks so as to reduce their area except after the fullest investigation; their resources are not to be subject to commercial exploitation; hunting and collection of species are to be prohibited and provision is to be made for visitors (art. 3).
·         agree to maintain lists of indigenous fauna and flora in danger of extinction and to give such species as complete protection as possible (art. 5).
·         provision may be made as appropriate for customary use of areas and species in accordance with traditional cultural practices (art. 6).

Text of the Convention: 

Parties to the Convention: 

Australia Cook 
FSM Fiji France RMI Nauru Niue Palau PNG Samoa Solomon
Tonga Tuvalu Vanuatu
x x x x x

Conference of the Parties: 

National reporting: 

Revision of the Convention

You are here: Home Convention Secretariat Apia Convention