The capacity building related to Multilateral Environmental Agreements (MEAs) in Africa, Caribbean and the Pacific Countries (ACP MEAs) Programme is an initiative of the Organization of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (OACPS) and is funded by the European Union, under the Intra-ACP envelop of the 11th European Development Fund (EDF).  The Programme is being implemented by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).    The objective of the Programme is to enhance the capacity of ACP countries to comply with MEAs in order to improve the countries’ management of their environment and natural resources.

The Programme is based on the recognition that ACP countries have different levels of capacity related to the implementation of MEAs in that there are a lot of opportunities for South-South cooperation between the ACP regions. It is, thus, the Programme’s overall objective to promote environmental sustainability in the ACP countries by supporting and strengthening the institutions involved in the mainstreaming and implementation of MEAs in the region.  

The first and second phases of the ACP MEAs Programme promoted an integrated and synergistic approach to effectively implement the relevant Conventions on biodiversity and chemicals and waste management.  

This third phase of the ACP MEAs Programme will build on the results and achievements of Phase I and Phase II, by enhancing the mainstreaming and implementation of MEAs related to biodiversity and to chemicals and waste. Its focus is on enforcement and compliance of MEAs, enhanced oceans governance and the mainstreaming of biodiversity in agriculture.  

For the Pacific region, the implementation of activities under the ACP MEA3 Programme is carried out by the Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP). It is comprised of two (2) components:

  1. The effective implementation, monitoring, enforcement of, and compliance with MEAs related to biodiversity and chemicals and waste.
  2. The effective implementation of the regional seas convention to address pollution and integrated coastal zone management.

The Work Plan and Budget of the ACP MEAs Phase III consist of activities and budget allocations for the two (2) components approved by UNEP.
These are led and delivered by our key Technical Programmes with the assistance of our Programme Coordination Team, to ensure project activities are aligned with the overall ACP MEA Phase III Programme objectives, budget; and activities are implemented in a coordinated, coherent, and integrated manner.

The ACP MEA Phase III Coordination Team is based in the Environmental Monitoring and Governance Programme of SPREP.  Please contact the following personnel for further information on the ACP MEA Phase III Programme:

Mr Jope Davetanivalu
Acting Director of Environmental Monitoring and Governance
[email protected]

Ms Anastacia Amoa-Stowers
MEAs Coordinator
[email protected]

Ms Flavia Vaai
MEAs Support Officer
[email protected]

ACP MEAs 3 Logo

If you were after ACP MEAs 2 project information please visit this link.